Thursday, July 17, 2014

On Death and Dying

Everyone in life deals with death at one point another.  There are different ways to handle death and Dr. Elisabeth Kubler Ross does an excellent job of describing the process of grieving and handling the death of someone we love and cherish.    She explores the five stages of death: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance.  No matter who we are or what stage of life we are in we go through each other these stages in one form or another.

This book gives readers a better understanding of why they grieve the way they do.   She goes into depth of each stage and uses ample interviews and conversations to help describe each stage and their importance in the grieving process.  The way she writes and describes these feelings helps bring our experiences to life and help us through the process.  She also includes some of her own experiences which helps add to the personal aspect of the book.

Kubler-Ross's book is said to be one of the most important psychological studies in the late twentieth century.   Many pastors, medical professionals and professors use this as a resource for educating people on this process.  As you read this book you feel as if she did her research and made sure she knew and understood the subject before trying to explain it to others.  She concludes with a chapter explaining the reactions of doctors, nurses, counselors and chaplains, professionals who deal with the dying every day. It helps understand all aspects of the grief process.

Pros: very helpful in the grieving process
Cons: Lot of information to take in

Bottom Line: If it definitely worth a read.
Rating 4.5 out of 5 stars.

No comments:

Post a Comment