Saturday, July 5, 2014

Autumn Twilight

All they wanted was to meet together and reflect on the past five years.  They didn't expect to become a part of something bigger than themselves.  The companions meet at the Inn of the Last Home in Solace after being apart for 5 years when a woman and her bodyguard appear with a mystical staff.  During a story from an old man others find out what the staff truly is and the companions are now being hunted by the evil of the world.  As they escape they notice things that are different, things that are changing, omens that for tell disaster instead of good fortune.

As they go on their search for answers and the truth they run into creatures never before seen on Krynn.  Creatures that make even the most honorable beings afraid for what is to happen in the world. After meeting with the Forestmaster they are given a quest to travel to a city where they will find the answers they so desire.  They all swear to protect the beautiful barbarian princess who is the bearer of a blue crystal staff that all the evil is in search for, it could be proof of the ancient gods long forgotten.

Tanis Half-elven leads the group through their journey to find out the truth behind the staff, the origin of these strange new creatures, and help them band together as the evil that has come to earth tries to pull them apart.  Tasslehoff Burrfoot provides the comic relief as he wanders off because something shiney catches his eye.  Strum Brightblade is the noble knight bound by his honor to protect young Goldmoon, the barbarian princess entrusted with the staff.  Riverwind is her bodyguard, and he ever-loyal lover.

Flint Fireforge is like your grumpy old man complaining about everything and anything along the journey.   The twins Caramon and Rasitlin are opposites.  Caramon being the strong warrior always quick to the aid of his brother Raistlin the magic user who has a darker soul than any of them could imagine.  Along the way they meet people who are willing to help them in their quest.

Dragons of Autumn Twilight is the first book in a series that has spawned over 80 titles and thousands of fans.  The story is set in Krynn and as the story progress the author duo does a fantastic job at describing each scene to make the land seem different from another.  The tree city of Solace is completely different from the swamps they have to travel through or even the dreaded Darken Wood.  As they progress to different parts of the land, the setting and the description change not only for how the area looks, but also the tone and feeling of the new area adds to the intensity of the story.

In many other books the characters are given a short past, enough to explain who they are in the story.  But not Dragons of Autumn Twilight the characters are given to detailed past that sometimes comes back to haunt them and in the case of Rasitlin and Caramon, each other.  The story line is one that draws you in and makes you want to read the following novels.

Take the mystical journey and follow Tanis, Tasslehoff, Raistlin and the others as the journey to complete their quest for the truth of the blue crystal and the legend of the Dragonlance.

Pros:  Great beginning to a series; perfect first novel for it.
Cons: None

Bottom Line: if you enjoy fantasy novels this is a must read.

Rating 5 out of 5 stars

No comments:

Post a Comment